No post entry with suspended, revoked, expired driverís license Print E-mail
Thursday, 24 September 2015
By Mike Bowers
Managing editor
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

A sure stop sign for not gaining entry to Fort Leonard Wood is possession of an expired, suspended, revoked, altered or cancelled driver’s license.

Motorists stopped at the installation’s entry control point and found to be in possession of such licenses will be denied entry onto post, as well as face a citation and mandatory court appearance, according to officials of the Directorate of Emergency Services Traffic Management and Collision Investigations section.

Law enforcement officials report, so far this calendar year, they have written 104 citations for license issues, including 32 for expired, 60 for suspended and 12 for revoked or cancelled licenses.

“Many people are caught off guard with an expired or suspended license,” said Staff Sgt. Derek Atwood, noncommissioned officer in charge of Traffic Management and Collision Investigations.

“Many Soldiers and Family members come into the military life and still hold onto a small piece of home by keeping their driver’s license from their home of record. There are only a fraction of the states that allow a military exemption — meaning as long as they are active duty, their license will not expire,” Atwood explained.

He said some of these laws carry over to Family members, as well; it’s best to check with their local department of motor vehicles, or DMV, to see what rules apply.

“The best practice for Soldiers is to know if their state has a rule and, if not, they should keep track of when it expires,” Atwood said.

A Soldier’s or Family member’s ID card is an avenue to spot bad driver’s licenses, according to Atwood.

“The Department of the Army guards and military police use an access control system to scan government-issued ID cards and give instant feedback,” Atwood said. “This scanning process also matches warrants, as well as scans the DMV for expired or suspended licenses.”

State DMVs control driver’s licenses, which, according to Atwood, “means as long as you have a license from that state, it can cancel or suspend it without notice.”

Atwood said, “Many suspended licenses result from a criminal act, such as DWI/DUI or reckless driving offense. There are some states that will cancel or suspend a license if you owe an excess amount  of child support.”

Any person convicted of driving with a revoked license is guilty of a misdemeanor. A first violation of this section shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed $300, according to Missouri Revised Statute 302.321.

The statute states a second or third violation shall be punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not to exceed one year and/or a fine not  to exceed $1,000.

“Fort Leonard Wood incorporates Missouri traffic laws,” said Capt. Preston Burford, Fort Leonard Wood’s special assistant U.S. Attorney, Office of the Staff Judge Advocate.

Driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license carries a 12-point assessment against state licenses/state driving privileges and typically results in an extension or new suspension of a driver’s state driving privileges, depending on the current point accumulation, Burford said.

“Furthermore, driving while suspended or revoked will result in the suspension or revocation of your on-post-driving privileges for a period not to exceed 12 months,” Burford added.  “This applies to anyone driving on post, not just military and Family  members.”

Atwood warned that installation-driving points are different from those issued by the DMV. He said drivers should contact the DMV for off-post points or the DES administration section to find out their installation-point status.

“The best way to not worry about points or revoked licenses is to pay attention to expiration dates and know your state laws,” Atwood added.
Last Updated ( Wednesday, 07 October 2015 )