Fall hunting seasons for deer, turkey and other game will begin in a little over eight weeks, and the Missouri Department of Conservation is encouraging hunters who need to complete a hunter-education course to do so early.
With some exceptions, residents between ages 16 and 54 are required by law to obtain hunter-education certification before they can legally hunt in the state.
With the COVID-19 pandemic disrupting normal in-person classes, state officials note that the conservation department now offers an online course.
“To help keep staff, volunteers, program participants and others safe, MDC has changed the format and structure of some of our programs, including hunter education,” said Justin McGuire, MDC Hunter Education and Shooting Range coordinator.
The online course, which costs $20, may be completed by Missouri residents 16 years of age and older at https://www.hunter-ed.com/missouri.
For more information about Missouri’s hunter-education requirements, visit mdc.mo.gov/huntereducation.
Depending on age and other factors, individuals may be exempt from hunter-education requirements. Exceptions to Missouri’s hunter-education-certification law include:
— Hunters aged 15 or younger who will be hunting with an adult mentor aged 18 or older who is certified in hunter education or exempt.
— Hunters born before Jan. 1, 1967.
— Hunters with a disability exemption from MDC.
— Hunters aged 16 or older who have purchased an Apprentice Hunter Authorization and will be hunting with a properly permitted adult mentor aged 18 or older.
— Hunters who are landowners hunting on land they own.
— Hunters who can prove completion of an approved hunter-education course in another state.